FY 2006 PHY Response to FY 2005 COV Report

The formal response of the Physics Division to the recommendations of the CoV remains unchanged, and the Division is in the process of implementing the elements of that response. In some cases, e.g. the opening of the APPI program to competition, budget has not yet allowed this. However, the Division has successfully recruited a full-time Program Director, Charles Conover, for the AMOP program and a full-time Program Director, Kathleen McCloud, for the EIR program. This should go a long way to alleviating the concerns expressed by the CoV with regard to representation for these two programs. The Division has also hired Fred Cooper as a Permanent Program Director for Theoretical Physics, Tom Carruthers as a Permanent Program Director for Elementary Particle Physics.

The Physics Division continues to take very seriously the comments made by the CoV with regard to large scale projects and facilities. As many of the concerns expressed by the CoV relate not only to Physics, but to NSF facility management as a whole, Physics staff are working continuously with others in the Foundation to develop procedures that will guarantee a detailed project review at all stages of the process.