Appendix E: Roundtable 3—September 4, 2008

NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD TASK FORCE ON SUSTAINABLE ENERGY

Roundtable Discussion #3

Science, Engineering, and Education Challenges Related to the Development of Sustainable Energy

University of California, Berkeley Clark Kerr Campus Conference Center 2601 Warring St. Berkeley, CA 94720 September 4, 2008

AGENDA

8:00 a.m.	Welcoming RemarksDr. Steven Beering, Chairman, National Science Board
8:05 a.m.	 Summary of Previous Task Force Roundtable Discussions: February 8, 2008 in Arlington, VA and June 19, 2008 in Golden, Colorado Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss, Co-Chairmen, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board
8:15 a.m.	 Overview, Purpose, and Goals of Today's Roundtable Discussion Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss
8:25 a.m.	Introduction of Participants
8:30 a.m.	Presentation: What Roles Can Federal and State Governments Play in Promoting Sustainable Energy? Speaker: Dr. Mark Levine, Staff Senior Scientist and leader of China Energy Group, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
8:45 a.m.	Discussion Session 1: Regulatory Environment for Sustainable Energy Research Co-Moderators: Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss
9:15 a.m.	Break
9:30 a.m.	Presentation: Sustainable Energy Policy: Integrating Energy, Ecology, and Economics Speaker: Dr. Mark Brown, Professor, Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences; Program Director, Center for Environmental Policy, University of Florida

9:55 a.m.	Discussion Session 2: Sustainable Energy Policy: Integrating Energy, Ecology, and Economics Co-Moderators: Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss	
10:55 a.m.	Presentation: A Renewable Energy Perspective: Financing, Forecasting, Modeling and Trajectory Speaker: Mr. Vinod Khosla, Founder and Partner, Khosla Ventures	
11:20 a.m.	Presentation: Federal Support for Sustainable Energy Research Speaker: Dr. Daniel M. Kammen, Class of 1935 Distinguished Professor of Energy, University of California, Berkeley; Founding Director, Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory	
11:45 p.m.	Discussion Session 3: Public-Private Investment in Sustainable Energy Research Co-Moderators: Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss	
12:30 p.m.	Lunch Luncheon Welcoming Remarks: Chancellor Robert Birgeneau, University of California at Berkeley	
12:40 p.m.	Luncheon Presentation: Net Zero Energy, High-Performance Green Buildings: Rationale and Vision for the Federal R&D Agenda Speaker: Dr. S. Shyam Sunder, Director, Building and Fire Research Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce	
1:40 p.m.	Break	
1:55 p.m.	Presentation: Advancing Public Awareness of Topics in Sustainable Energy Speaker: Dr. Eric R.A.N. Smith, Professor, Department of Political Science and Environmental Studies Program, University of California, Santa Barbara	
2:20 p.m.	Presentation: Education in Sustainable Energy and Global Sustainability: NSF Context Speaker: Dr. Al DeSena, Program Director, Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings (DRL), National Science Foundation; Coordinator, Lifelong Learning Cluster, DRL, NSF	
2:45 p.m.	Discussion Session 4: Public Awareness and Education of Sustainable Energy Co-Moderators: Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss	
4:00 p.m.	Presentation with Q&A: Current Sustainable Energy Initiatives in NSF's Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences Speaker: Dr. Tony Chan, Assistant Director, Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences, National Science Foundation	
4:30 p.m.	Summary and Next Steps for the Task Force Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss	

List of Participants: Roundtable Discussion #3

Name	Affiliation			
National Science Board Participants				
Dr. Dan E. Arvizu	Co-Chairman, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board			
Dr. Jon C. Strauss	Co-Chairman, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board			
Dr. Mark R. Abbott	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Steven C. Beering	Chairman, National Science Board			
Dr. Camilla P. Benbow	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Patricia D. Galloway	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. José-Marie Griffiths	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Douglas D. Randall	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Mr. Arthur K. Reilly	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Craig R. Robinson	Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board			
Participants				
Dr. Robert Birgeneau	Chancellor and Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley			
Dr. Harvey Blanch	Chief Science and Technology Officer, Joint BioEnergy Institute; Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley; Senior Faculty Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory			
Dr. Carl Blumstein	Director, California Institute for Energy and the Environment			
Dr. Severin Borenstein	Director, University of California Energy Institute; E. T. Grether Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley			
Dr. Mark Brown	Professor, Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences; Program Director, Center for Environmental Policy, University of Florida			
Dr. Tony Chan	Assistant Director, Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences, National Science Foundation			
Dr. Steven Chu	Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory			
Mr. John Denniston	Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers			
Dr. Al DeSena	Program Director, Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings (DRL); Coordinator, Lifelong Learning Cluster, DRL, National Science Foundation			
Dr. Sossina Haile	Professor of Materials Science and of Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology			
Mr. Rich Halvey	Energy Program Director, Western Governors' Association			
Dr. Zakya Kafafi	Division Director, Division of Materials Research, National Science Foundation			

Dr. Daniel Kammen	Class of 1935 Distinguished Professor of Energy, University of California, Berkeley; Founding Director, Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory
Mr. Vinod Khosla	Founder and Partner, Khosla Ventures
Mr. Hal LaFlash	Director, Emerging Clean Technology Policy, Pacific Gas and Electric Company
Dr. Mark Levine	Staff Senior Scientist and Leader of China Energy Group, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Dr. Jane Long	Principal Associate Director at Large, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Dr. Arun Majumdar	Director, Environmental Energy Technologies Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Almy & Agnes Maynard Chair Professor, College of Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Trung Van Nguyen	Director, Energy for Sustainability Program, National Science Foundation
Dr. Ann Russell	Program Director, Division of Environmental Biology, National Science Foundation
Dr. Nancy Ryan	Chief of Staff, Office of President Michael Peevey, California Public Utilities Commission
Dr. Eric Smith	Professor, Department of Political Science and Environmental Studies Program, University of California, Santa Barbara
Dr. S. Shyam Sunder	Director, Building and Fire Research Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce
Dr. Duane Wegener	Professor of Psychological Sciences; Initiative Leader for Social, Economic, and Political Aspects of Energy Use and Policy, Energy Center at Discovery Park, Purdue University
Dr. Catherine Wolfram	Executive Director, Center for Energy & Environmental Innovation; Associate Professor of Business Administration, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley